Skip to main content


   •  SHARE

Watch: The 2015 Jackson Award and Grateful Nation Award Presentations

On November 16, over 400 supporters attended JINSA's 33rd Annual Awards Dinner at the Marriott Marquis in Washington, DC to celebrate JINSA's 2015 Henry M. "Scoop" Jackson Distinguished Service Award honoree, Congressman Ed Royce, and the Grateful Nation Award recipients. In attendance were 32 members of congress, over 50 active duty U.S. military including 13 admirals and generals, numerous retired senior military personnel, defense industry representatives, and members of the diplomatic community.

Emcee for the evening was Catherine Herridge, Chief Intelligence Correspondent for Fox News. JINSA Chairman Michael Nachman welcomed the capacity crowd and Chairman of JINSA's Board of Advisors, David Steinmann, discussed the importance of JINSA relationship with the U.S. military. JINSA Chief Executive Officer Dr. Michael Makovsky's remarks included JINSA's 2015 achievements and the impact of our policy work and programs. Dr. Makovsky also discussed the tragic terrorist attacks in Paris.

JINSA's Jackson Award was presented to Congressman Ed Royce, Chairman of the House Committee on Foreign Affairs, for his tireless work on U.S. national security issues. Congressman Eliot Engel, the Ranking Member of the House Committee on Foreign Affairs, introduced Congressman Royce. Both Congressman spoke with passion about their bipartisan work on the committee and how it can be a model for dealing with critical national security issues involving Iran, Syria and our ally Israel. Congressman Royce praised those in the room stating, "Western civilization is under assault, you are the defenders, and thank you for supporting JINSA."

JINSA presented the Grateful Nation Award to six young warriors recognized for having distinguished themselves through superior conduct in the War on Terrorism. Honorees were chosen by their respective service and represent each of the five branches of the U.S. military and the U.S. Special Operations Command.

This year's Grateful Nation honorees were:

Major Lee Spencer Wallace, USA - Ranger Rifle Company Commander

Sergeant Amanda J. Eason, USMC - Marine Corps Career Planner (Click here to read a Marine Corps article about Sgt. Eason)

Petty Officer First Class John Palomares, USN - Lead Hospital Corpsman

Chief William Haynes, USCG - Redeployment Assistance and Inspection Team Supervisor

Technical Sergeant James P. Fitzgerald, USAF - Explosive Ordinance Disposal Team Leader (Click here to read and Air Force article about Tech. Sgt. Fitzgerald)

Captain Eric Barger, USA - Representing U.S. Special Operations Command

Click to read the full citations for all the honorees

Jewish Institute for National Security of America
1101 14th Street, NW, Suite 1030

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 667-3900 Office •